skip to Main Content

Six New Yorkers Named To House Financial Services Committee

*Photo Above:
From left to right (top):
 Carolyn Maloney, Greg Meeks & Nydia Velazquez 
From left to right (bottom): Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Peter King & Lee Zeldin
Six members of the New York congressional delegation will serve as members of the Financial Services Committee. There are four  Democrats — Carolyn Maloney (Manhattan), Greg Meeks (Queens), Nydia Velazquez (Brooklyn) and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (Queens/Bronx) and two Republicans — Peter King and Lee Zeldin (both from L.I.) 
Chairwoman Waters has indicated her priorities for the committee will include ending the partial government shutdown, reversing Consumer Financial Protection Bureau reforms, ensuring protections for fintech consumers, passing housing-finance and fair-housing reforms and promoting diversity and inclusion.
Meanwhile, “Politico” reports Rep. Ocasio-Cortez will also likely be named to the House  Oversight Committee, which could play an important role as Democrats have pledged to launch wide-ranging investigations into the president and his administration. Ocasio-Cortez will be part of  a group of progressive Democrats added to the committee, along with Reps.  Rashida Tlaib (D-MI), Ayanna Pressley (D-MA) and Ro Khanna (D-CA).
Back To Top